Visually Impaired Youth of Belize to Dive the Great Blue Hole

The story of a young and heroic blind teenager has captured our attention and captivated the hearts of thousands across Belize, Larry France, the Marketing Manager of Chabil Mar, tells us. He talks about Rowan’s latest adventure.

“In March 2011, Rowan Garel became the first visually impaired person to make it to the summit of Victoria Peak and in April of 2012 he set out to walk across the country. I only heard of Rowan and his accomplishments in February of this year, but was immediately inspired. And now, Chabil Mar has decided to co-sponsor his Blue Hole adventure and I will have the thrill and privilege of diving the Blue Hole with Rowan.”

“I am not only in awe of this young man’s courage and fortitude, but when I spoke with him I gained even more respect for this extraordinary young man when he told me, ‘My motivation is not, Oh you’re Rowan, you climbed Victoria Peak, you walked across Belize. I’m not interested in that. What I’m interested in is raising funds and awareness for the only program in Belize that deals with blind or visually impaired people and they have a rehab program which is completely free of cost. Take that away and all the blind people, like myself, will just be behind with everything, there would be no one there to help them along and that is what motivates me.’

Image Credit: Google +

5 thoughts on “Visually Impaired Youth of Belize to Dive the Great Blue Hole

  1. I came to your page via Google but I can’t find your Facebook page. I found a company that offers to create a custom Facebook page for free when you order one of their likes packages. I got a lot more traffic to my website once I had them set my facebook page up.

  2. … [Trackback]

    […] There you will find 49413 more Infos: avialblog.wordpress.com/2013/06/28/visually-impaired-youth-of-belize-to-dive-the-great-blue-hole/ […]

Leave a Reply

